Glitter Gala 2011!

I am SO EXCITED to be participating in the Seattle Goodwill Glitter Gala fashion show this year!  I’ve been practicing in my new red heels purchased this weekend and dreaming about my outrageous hair and makeup.

To get you into the Glitter Gala mood…

I was contacted by the Art Institute of Seattle last week about the designer-student outfits that will be showcased at the show as well.  Being a past children’s clothing designer that used mostly upcycled materials, I LOVE that the Goodwill is collaborating with the Art Institute to encourage re-design and showcasing the works at the Glitter Gala!  These pieces were put together from found items at the Seattle-area Goodwill stores and as you can see our local fashion-designers have talent!  I can’t wait to see them on the runway tonight.

The honorable mentions first…

Susy Gregoire’s gold and red piece… beautiful!

Pierre Davis brings some “ice” to the contest

Penny McMillan’s piece is so amazing!  I wish this one was in my size!!!

This piece was costume-amazing!

The Second Place winner is….

Daniel Bordner did a beautiful job on this piece!

And the winner is….

Alyson Mendez!  Who did an absolutely FABULOUS job with “the time she spent tearing strips of multi-colored fabrics to create this layered and textured strapless garment… she really invented her own fabric in the process.  The whole thing is astonishing!” – GlamSpoon (Glitter Gala Art Institute Judge 2011)

They said we might have some down time as models… so I’ll try and keep you all updated from hair and makeup (at Salon Circa) to the backstage action taking place via my Twitter account (my twitter is: evolveexistence).

Leave a comment

Filed under Thrift-spiration, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

