Goodwill Friendship DIY

I have a number of blogs that I periodically read to tempt my mind with a variety of looks in fashion, graphic design and even on the topics of music and DIY.  One of the newer blogs I’ve put on my bookmark list is Honestly… WTF

Rummaging through their posts I ended up finding an all time classic DIY project that I used to do until my fingers hurt as a kid… friendship bracelets.  But apparently now they are a bit more sophisticated with rhinestones, chevron patterns (see image from HonestyWTF below) and I’m finding different takes on how to make them on fashion blogs like Refinery 29 and the L.A. Times!

With so many options for new designs on a classic summer craft activity that I could do with my older son, we headed out to the Renton Goodwill to find our materials.

It was the Seattle Goodwill’s PINK TAG sale week, so I headed back to crafts and sorted the piles of materials to find some thread 1/2 off.  I ended up finding two embroadery kits for $2.99 and $1.99 that were PINK TAG so I gathered them up and headed home with our first art project of the summer.

Now, these newer updates on the bracelet are a bit more complex than the general braided ones I mastered in 8th so I decided to try the designs first and sat down to make one before I taught the technique to my son.  Luckily he had already been exposed to sewing and finger crocheting in 5th grade, so he quickly grasp the concept of the bracelet weaving.

I had fun making my first bracelet in 20+ years and it took me back to all those summer camps, braiding and braiding by the dim campfire light.  I created a newer take on the bracelet and added a pearl and reconstructed lobster-claw-clasp and chain for easier removal.  I also paired it with some of the other RAD bracelets I’ve picked up at the Goodwill stores this year, like this asian-enameled bracelet.

Remember, try your local Goodwill store when looking for your next DIY project be it a fashion, interior or art idea you would like to complete.  Often you will be inspired just by rummaging through the craft isles and maybe YOU will come up with your own new DIY look a la Goodwill!

2 Comments

Filed under Thrift-spiration

2 responses to “Goodwill Friendship DIY

  1. Good day! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

