Camps, Construction and Coffee!

This Friday morning, right @ opening, my boys and I entered the Seattle Dearborn Goodwill store to check out their GREEN TAG sale and look for a plain T-shirt for my oldest son’s camp.  He is in a fabulous Rock n’ Roll camp and part of their instruction is called “Rock Art” or otherwise known as marketing, smart huh?!  They teach the kids to make fliers, buttons, T-shirts and posters to not only market their final camp show… but to also SELL!  Not even many colleges teach young adults how to market themselves (let alone their practice) nowadays but this camp is teaching artists how to look at ALL angles of their passion… SMART!  Plus, a really great local musician Camille Bloom is the director (who ROCKS as both director and musician BTW!).

Anyways, we had 45 minutes to kill… and a very mellow store crowd (I really enjoy these early mornings or late evenings shopping @ Goodwill, they are so much more pleasurable than weekend afternoons!).

My oldest found his camp T shirt right away, as well as a Zoo York hat and I even found a great Italian paperboy hat in the men’s area!

I then checked out children’s because the little guy is quickly outgrowing his jammies and I ended up scoring a great blue-stripped pair!

As you can see, mommy made up for not finding anything the other day (the dressing room incident day) and found things at every turn!  Including this  amazing, silk, JCrew dress for only $5.99 that fits me like a glove!  You can’t beat that!  Besides, we have a beach wedding tomorrow that I’m quite sure this beauty will go perfectly with my JCrew flip-flops I purchased last summer!  I even found a great light-weight scarf to go with the ensemble!

We each left the store with some treasured items and even took a couple of minutes to watch the equipment tearing down the buildings.

Now all I need is a cup of coffee to complete this early morning adventure!

Leave a comment

Filed under Thrift hauls

Leave a Reply

